In North Carolina, there are two different point systems. The first is run by the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles and this is how the State regulates drivers based on infractions through a point system (see chart below). Ultimately, the more points you receive on your driver's license the more at risk you become of losing your license. Accumulating 12 points within three years equals a revocation of your license.
Additionally, for out-of-state drivers, North Carolina may report your traffic citation to your home state's Department of Motor Vehicles under the Non-Resident Violator Compact. At present, 44 States participate in this Agreement, including the District of Columbia. Thus, it is quite possible that any ticket you receive in North Carolina could have significant bearing on your license and potentially your insurance in your home state.
North Carolina DMV Point System
|5 Points||Passing a stopped school bus|
|4 Points||Following too closely;
Hit and run (property damage only = misdemeanor) - (personal injury = felony)
|3 Points||Speeding in excess of 55 mph
Running a stop sign
Running a red light
No driver's license, or expired more than year
Speeding in school zone
No liability insurance
Failure to yield right-of-way
Failure to report accident when such report is required
Failure to stop for siren
Infractions in safety zones
|2 Points||All other moving violations
Failure to restrain a child in a seat belt or restraining device
|1 Point||Littering from a motor vehicle|
|0 Points||Seat belt violations
Plates or inspection sticker
The second point system involves the insurance companies. According to the North Carolina Department of Insurance, any point accumulation from driving infractions will cause an increase in your premiums ranging from 30 percent for 1 point -- 340 percent increase for 12 points. This can obviously be very costly for you, which is why hiring an experienced attorney can significantly reduce the amount you pay over the long term. See the chart below for insurance points.
Percentage of Increase
Any increase in points can cost you hundreds to potentially thousands more annually. Before you decide to just pay your traffic citation think twice and give our Asheville traffic ticket Attorney Mark Melrose a call for a free consultation to see if we can help you with minimizing both DMV and insurance points.
Experienced Waynesville and Sylva Speeding Ticket Attorney
Attorney Mark R. Melrose, former senior partner at Melrose Seago & Lay, handles a wide range of traffic tickets and moving violations in Buncombe, Haywood, Jackson and Macon counties, including:
- Speeding tickets
- Reckless driving and Reckless endangerment
- Stop sign and stop light violations
- Hit-and-run violations
- Seat belt violations
- Registration, inspection and insurance violations
- Racing violations
- Signal violations
- Driver's license violations
- School bus crossing violations
- Commercial driver's license (CDL) violations
- School and work zone violations
- Driving with a revoked or suspended license (DWLR)
- No operator's license
- Failure to move over for an emergency vehicle
- Any other traffic or any other related moving violation
Seasoned Buncombe County Speeding Ticket Attorney
Prayer for Judgment Continued
In some circumstances, you may be eligible for a Prayer for Judgment Continued (PJC). A PJC is a special procedural device in North Carolina where the defendant is adjudicated guilty by the court, but there is no entry of judgment. Thus, there is no technical conviction because there was never a final judgment entered.
In regards to traffic citations, you can use up to one PJC every three years per household for insurance purposes without seeing an increase in premiums. You may also be eligible to use up to 2 PJCs within a five-year period for DMV point purposes, but this will depend on a variety of factors. If you do enter a PJC, and it is successful, you will not receive any insurance or DMV points. However, there are many pitfalls with using a PJC that one must consider, which is why we recommend calling for a free consultation before deciding to use a PJC.
There are certain offenses in which a PJC is not an option and these include:
- Speeding over 25 mph
- Offenses where the driver has an active commercial driver's license
- Certain offenses in school zones or work zones
- Driving while impaired
Additionally, it is always good to keep in mind of the limitations that using a PJC will cause for you and your household. Not only could you potentially keep other members of your household from using a PJC (causing an increase in insurance) but by using your PJC you may also be limiting your options in the future.
In some circumstances a PJC may be the best and wisest move for you and for your family, but in other situations a PJC can wind up causing you more harm than good. We hope that you contact us for a free consultation to discuss the best options for you and your family before moving forward.
In some situations you may qualify for Defensive Driving School. In these situations, if you qualify, we can assist you in getting into the program and possibly obtaining a reduction in the original offense to an improper equipment charge. This is a highly desirable outcome if you cannot afford to have any additional moving violation points on your license or insurance.
The required course is a four-hour course and the cost is $60 for the class. If you would like to see if you are eligible, please contact our office to discuss this as a potential option.
Contact Us for a Free Consultation
If you received a traffic or moving violation in Asheville, Buncombe County, Waynesville, Haywood County, Sylva, Jackson County, or in Franklin or Macon County, please contact our office to discuss your case with experienced Attorney Mark R. Melrose, call (800) 222-2430. You may also contact us online. We offer highly competitive rates.